Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,256
Total Threads: 81,169
Total Posts: 566,838
There are 39 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     Programming     Other Programming Languages :

[CSS] 2 Divs on one line

Thread title: [CSS] 2 Divs on one line
Closed Thread    
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
06-19-2008, 07:28 AM
#1
Seraskier is offline Seraskier
Status: I love this place
Join date: Jan 2007
Location: Charlotte
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 542
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Seraskier is an unknown quantity at this point

Send a message via AIM to Seraskier Send a message via MSN to Seraskier

  Old  [CSS] 2 Divs on one line

Hm,

After a while of working at this, I still cant find a solution.

I've tried many things, from two left floats to setting up the widths, they will work in IE most of the time, but when I come aroudn to testing in Opera or FF, they collapse.

I want a table-less setup that has a setup like this:

The Main id will be first, setting up the overall layout.
The Heading id will be next, just a explanation of the script at the top of the main div, i.e. Register, Login.
The main id after, just containg the container classes, right below the heading div.
The Container class will be inside the main div, Containg the Post and Post2 classes.
Post and Post2 are the two divs I need right next to eachother, Post containing 'Username' and Post2 containg the text box. But this is where it messes up. I need them seperate divs, opera and FF like to put them in with eachother.

I don't do css that much, but it is validated so far, so its cross-browser, somewhat.

If someone can help me that would be great, I think I got everything I wanted to say.

Jordan

06-20-2008, 03:55 PM
#2
mtr is offline mtr
Status: I'm new around here
Join date: Feb 2008
Location: NC
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 13
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

mtr is on a distinguished road

  Old

Try setting overflow:auto; in the Main and Container divs.

06-22-2008, 08:58 AM
#3
Christopher is offline Christopher
Status: I'm new around here
Join date: May 2008
Location: Essex England
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 7
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Christopher is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Christopher

  Old

Have you specified the sizes and positioning correctly?

07-16-2008, 02:06 AM
#4
v-a-l-o-r is offline v-a-l-o-r
v-a-l-o-r's Avatar
Status: Member
Join date: Jul 2008
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 100
iTrader: 1 / 100%
 

v-a-l-o-r is on a distinguished road

  Old

May we see the .css file used in the project and the html markup?

08-26-2008, 07:52 PM
#5
Raphy is offline Raphy
Raphy's Avatar
Status: Member
Join date: Aug 2008
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 146
iTrader: 4 / 100%
 

Raphy is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to Raphy Send a message via MSN to Raphy Send a message via Skype™ to Raphy

  Old

float:left for both of them and the div below clear:both;

Enjoy.

08-29-2008, 07:30 PM
#6
ditch182 is offline ditch182
Status: Junior Member
Join date: Jul 2008
Location: NC
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 70
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

ditch182 is on a distinguished road

  Old

If IE does it correctly, but Opera and FF don't, then you may be specifying sizes incorrectly. Keep in mind that IE doesn't follow the same box model as the rest of the world. That being said, it would be helpful to be able to see the markup and the css.

Closed Thread    


Thread Tools
Display Modes

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed