Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,256
Total Threads: 81,169
Total Posts: 566,839
There are 47 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     Programming     Other Programming Languages :

My first usefull ajax script!

Thread title: My first usefull ajax script!
Closed Thread  
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
08-08-2007, 05:40 PM
#1
Village Genius is offline Village Genius
Village Genius's Avatar
Status: Geek
Join date: Apr 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Expertise: Software
Software: Chrome, Notepad++
 
Posts: 6,892
iTrader: 18 / 100%
 

Village Genius will become famous soon enough

  Old  My first usefull ajax script! (also need help)

The script no longer exists, this thread is ancient. Please stop posting in it.

08-08-2007, 05:49 PM
#2
Marky is offline Marky
Status: Ready for Action
Join date: Aug 2005
Location: UK
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,775
iTrader: 14 / 100%
 

Marky is on a distinguished road

  Old

It doesn't work for me =\ I use Internet Explorer 7 if that helps at all

08-08-2007, 05:54 PM
#3
Village Genius is offline Village Genius
Village Genius's Avatar
Status: Geek
Join date: Apr 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Expertise: Software
Software: Chrome, Notepad++
 
Posts: 6,892
iTrader: 18 / 100%
 

Village Genius will become famous soon enough

  Old

Originally Posted by Marky View Post
It doesn't work for me =\ I use Internet Explorer 7 if that helps at all
I hate IE (and dont understand why you use it), il see whats wrong with it.

08-08-2007, 05:55 PM
#4
Awesome is offline Awesome
Awesome's Avatar
Status: Pastafarian
Join date: May 2006
Location: Duct Taped to your Ceiling
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 3,439
iTrader: 26 / 93%
 

Awesome is on a distinguished road

  Old

Not using ajax for me, goes the the shortener page. It shouldn't change if the request is working. FF.

08-08-2007, 05:55 PM
#5
Village Genius is offline Village Genius
Village Genius's Avatar
Status: Geek
Join date: Apr 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Expertise: Software
Software: Chrome, Notepad++
 
Posts: 6,892
iTrader: 18 / 100%
 

Village Genius will become famous soon enough

  Old

Originally Posted by Blue Ire View Post
Not using ajax for me, gos the the shortener page. It shouldn't change if the request is working.
That means you are hitting enter, not the shorten button, another bug which I need to fix.

08-08-2007, 05:55 PM
#6
Marky is offline Marky
Status: Ready for Action
Join date: Aug 2005
Location: UK
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,775
iTrader: 14 / 100%
 

Marky is on a distinguished road

  Old

Originally Posted by Village Idiot View Post
I hate IE (and dont understand why you use it), il see whats wrong with it.
I keep meaning to transfer to Firefox, but I like Internet Explorer... the only problem with it for me is it's a pain in the butt to code in as there are so many problems with cross-browser etc.
Good luck with the fixing though

08-08-2007, 05:57 PM
#7
Awesome is offline Awesome
Awesome's Avatar
Status: Pastafarian
Join date: May 2006
Location: Duct Taped to your Ceiling
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 3,439
iTrader: 26 / 93%
 

Awesome is on a distinguished road

  Old

Ah, I see.

08-08-2007, 06:28 PM
#8
Village Genius is offline Village Genius
Village Genius's Avatar
Status: Geek
Join date: Apr 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Expertise: Software
Software: Chrome, Notepad++
 
Posts: 6,892
iTrader: 18 / 100%
 

Village Genius will become famous soon enough

  Old

I cant figure out why its not working, any javascript experts here?

08-08-2007, 06:39 PM
#9
CreativeLogic is offline CreativeLogic
CreativeLogic's Avatar
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Feb 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 1,078
iTrader: 6 / 100%
 

CreativeLogic is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to CreativeLogic

  Old

First you want to remove the onclick from the button.

Add this to the form:
onsubmit="GetURL(); return false;"

The return false will make the form not submit the page, you know what the GetURL function does.

There error in IE is this line (which IE doesn't support):
Request.overrideMimeType('text/html');

To be honest, I'm not sure why you're using that. Your returned result should send back those proper headers if you must have them in there. If you remove that line it looks like it should work.

08-08-2007, 06:50 PM
#10
Awesome is offline Awesome
Awesome's Avatar
Status: Pastafarian
Join date: May 2006
Location: Duct Taped to your Ceiling
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 3,439
iTrader: 26 / 93%
 

Awesome is on a distinguished road

  Old

Why use inline js? Wouldn't it be better to simply write the complete setup in php and html, and use js to intercept the specified actions? This way it functions perfectly without js, and with js you get the niceties. The way it is now it works without js only if you hit enter, button is useless. Just a thought.

Closed Thread  
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >


Thread Tools
Display Modes

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed