Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,256
Total Threads: 81,169
Total Posts: 566,839
There are 30 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     Browsers and Operating Systems :

Vista Discussion

Thread title: Vista Discussion
Closed Thread  
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
03-18-2007, 06:57 PM
#1
Aaron Michael is offline Aaron Michael
Status: Member
Join date: Aug 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 392
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Aaron Michael is on a distinguished road

  Old  Vista Discussion

I'm not sure if this has done before but I thought it'd be a good idea to see everyone's specs,opinions, ect on windows vista. Please stay on topic and not trash the thread.

Well I just got Vista Ultimate the other night I installed it on a pretty basic computer. 1gb of memory, Geforce 6 series Vid Card, AMD Athlon X2 3800+ Dual Core. I find it runs some programs alot better than WinXp, Only problem I would say i've ran into is when im running limewire it eats up my memory but then again I only have about half a gig or more of memory left since Vista is using the rest of it.

Onle games I play now is Guild Wars, Battlefield 2, and Counter Strike Source. I have not played any since the installation but I have ran BF2 it seems as if the game runs smoother than before. Anyone play CS:S or GW yet ?

03-18-2007, 07:07 PM
#2
Sulcalibur is offline Sulcalibur
Sulcalibur's Avatar
Status: I love this place
Join date: Jan 2005
Location: London
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 608
iTrader: 4 / 100%
 

Sulcalibur is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Sulcalibur

  Old

Vista uses the ram differently, it kinda stores it ready for the apps.

Also let me know it Guild Wars runs ok

03-18-2007, 07:09 PM
#3
Aaron Michael is offline Aaron Michael
Status: Member
Join date: Aug 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 392
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Aaron Michael is on a distinguished road

  Old

Shall do, right now im updating BF2 and then i'll install Guild Wars.

**Does Vista remind you of Mac, I know it's weird but for some reason its reminds me of Mac.

03-18-2007, 07:15 PM
#4
nomatch is offline nomatch
Status: Senior Member
Join date: Sep 2006
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 839
iTrader: 9 / 91%
 

nomatch is on a distinguished road

  Old

I didn't like it, switched back to XP. It just seems like a cheap rip of MAC OS, with less features. Although i must admit, it does look very sexy :P.

03-18-2007, 07:15 PM
#5
Luke is offline Luke
Luke's Avatar
Status: I love this place
Join date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 586
iTrader: 2 / 100%
 

Luke is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Luke

  Old

I installed upgraded to Vista Home Premium on Friday. The installation was very smooth, just had to update a few drivers. The system runs nicely, I havn't tried any games yet though. I have noticed my computer is running a little faster than before and I am LOVING the interface.

My specs are:
Intel Pentium 4 660 (3.6 GHz)
2GB RAM
Nvidia Geforce 6800GT

03-18-2007, 07:16 PM
#6
Dizzee is offline Dizzee
Status: Member
Join date: Sep 2005
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 241
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Dizzee is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to Dizzee

  Old

i hate how every one says vista looks so much like a mac, and they coppied a mac... blah blah blah!
imo vista is way sexier than macs (though i do like mac's dashboard better than the sidebar) and looks way different

in a few months im getting a new labtop and will deff be getting vista on it...
right now im to busy/lazy to upgrade

03-18-2007, 07:19 PM
#7
Aaron Michael is offline Aaron Michael
Status: Member
Join date: Aug 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 392
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Aaron Michael is on a distinguished road

  Old

Originally Posted by Luke View Post
I have noticed my computer is running a little faster than before and I am LOVING the interface.
Alright I thought that might have been just me because I think my system's performance has increase atleast doubled it's normal speed on XP, I too love the interface.

Originally Posted by Dizzee View Post
i hate how every one says vista looks so much like a mac, and they coppied a mac... blah blah blah!
imo vista is way sexier than macs (though i do like mac's dashboard better than the sidebar) and looks way different
I never said M'zoft copied Apple. The new interface just reminds me of Mac, only certain parts though like the sidebar, games area and icons.

Originally Posted by Sulcalibur View Post
Vista uses the ram differently, it kinda stores it ready for the apps.
Can someone explain this to me, I never really looked into Vista just went by what all my friends have said and my sister's fiances brother ( he works with I.T. )

03-19-2007, 08:52 AM
#8
Mase is offline Mase
Mase's Avatar
Status: I love this place
Join date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 548
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Mase is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Mase

  Old

Apparantly theres some nifty little features my collegue was telling me about (hes a server guy here at work). Such as Defrag? it shedules it and does it in the background which i think is good as i'm always forgetting to keep on top of that.

It boots quicker.. he says the load times were slower but it loads more into memory.. so after the initial boot - the system runs much quicker. He also said Aero is very nice and was suprisingly smooth all round.

He did mention his only gripe was the new access rights on it.. such as you can't be an administrator like you could in XP, and have rights to do ANYTHING! Instead you use your system, when it comes to install a program or something you need to put in auth. Its hard to explain but google Vista admin rights or something and im sure you'll get a few articles about it!

03-19-2007, 01:07 PM
#9
ambience is offline ambience
Status: Member
Join date: Sep 2005
Location: Townsville, Australia
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 475
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

ambience is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to ambience Send a message via MSN to ambience

  Old

Yeah ^ all those things ture. I love how boots much faster.

I think its great really and very happy upgraded

03-19-2007, 03:30 PM
#10
sskhalsa is offline sskhalsa
Status: Member
Join date: Mar 2006
Location: New York City
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 371
iTrader: 2 / 100%
 

sskhalsa is on a distinguished road

  Old

beware -- if you have an ati all in wonder card, your TV tuner will not work at all under vista.

ati/amd sucks

Closed Thread  
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >


Thread Tools
Display Modes

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed