Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,471
There are 1407 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     HTML/XHTML/DHTML/CSS :

Need help coding my network bar...

Thread title: Need help coding my network bar...
Closed Thread    
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
12-16-2004, 03:51 AM
#1
sliceandcode is offline sliceandcode
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Aug 2004
Location: California
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 1,004
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

sliceandcode is on a distinguished road

  Old  Need help coding my network bar...

Hey, I tried coding this for myself and since I totally suck at coding, I'm having a hard time

Anyway! I need someone to guide me into the right direction with maybe some articles I can read that will help me along the way. You can see the network bar by going to http://www.3gnmedia.com/ and it's the only thing there. Now, what I want it to do is act like all the other network bars that you see without any distortion. I can't seem to get the "list/menu" to work without it being too small to fit into the area that I have made for it or stretched to high.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Regards,
Thien Hoang

12-16-2004, 04:44 AM
#2
MattS is offline MattS
MattS's Avatar
Status: Junior Member
Join date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 25
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

MattS is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to MattS Send a message via MSN to MattS

  Old

HTML Code:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=100% border=0>
  <TBODY>
  <TR>
    <TD rowSpan=3><IMG height=36 alt="" src="images/nb_01.gif" 
      width=102></TD>
    <TD background=images/nb_02.gif rowSpan=3>&nbsp; </TD>
      <TD rowSpan=3 background="images/nb_03.gif" height=36 alt="" src="images/nb_03.gif" width="100%"></TD>
    <TD rowSpan=3><IMG height=36 alt="" src="images/nb_04.gif" 
      width=4></TD>
    <TD colSpan=3><IMG height=9 alt="" src="images/nb_05.gif" 
      width=380></TD>
    <TD rowSpan=3><IMG height=36 alt="" src="images/nb_06.gif" 
      width=4></TD>
    <TD rowSpan=3><IMG height=36 alt="" src="images/nb_07.gif" 
      width=17></TD></TR>
  <TR>
    <TD><IMG height=19 alt="" src="images/nb_08.gif" width=180></TD>
    <TD><IMG height=19 alt="" src="images/nb_09.gif" width=20></TD>
    <TD><IMG height=19 alt="" src="images/nb_10.gif" 
width=180></TD></TR>
  <TR>
    <TD colSpan=3><IMG height=8 alt="" src="images/nb_11.gif" 
      width=380></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
that should work yeh that is 100% width. so it stretchs via browser.

to do dropdowns use CSS and just insert the form with either a DIV or cut and paste.

12-16-2004, 04:50 AM
#3
sliceandcode is offline sliceandcode
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Aug 2004
Location: California
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 1,004
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

sliceandcode is on a distinguished road

  Old

Woah, you rock. It worked Thanks a lot.

12-16-2004, 05:02 AM
#4
sliceandcode is offline sliceandcode
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Aug 2004
Location: California
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 1,004
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

sliceandcode is on a distinguished road

  Old

Ok, now I have another question. When I add a list/menu in the placeholder that I have for it, it's either too short and does not stretch across or too high and distorts the bar.

12-16-2004, 10:09 PM
#5
karl472001 is offline karl472001
Status: Member
Join date: Jul 2004
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 226
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

karl472001 is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to karl472001

  Old

I have coded a version using no tables:

In the css, you can easily change the background, text size, and width of the select menus.

HTML:
Code:
	<div id="networkbar">
		<div id="networktitle"></div>
		<div id="menucontainer">
			<select>
				<option>--Entertainment--</option>
				<option>--Entertainment--</option>
				<option>--Entertainment--</option>
				<option>--Entertainment--</option>
			</select>
			<select>
				<option>--Entertainment--</option>
				<option>--Entertainment--</option>
				<option>--Entertainment--</option>
				<option>--Entertainment--</option>
			</select>
		</div>
	</div>
CSS:
Code:
html {
	width: 100%;
}
body {
	width: 100%;
	margin: 0px;
}
#networkbar {
	width: 100%;
	height: 36px;
	background-image: url(images/nb_02.gif);
	float: left;
}
#networktitle {
	width: 102px;
	height: 36px;
	display: block;
	background-image: url(images/nb_01.gif);
	float: left;
}
#menucontainer {
	margin-top: 8px;
	margin-right: 5px;
	float: right;
}
select {
	width: 200px;
	margin-left: 5px;
	height: 19px;
	font-family: Verdana, Arial;
	font-size: 11px;
	color: #555555;
	background: #EEEEEE;
}

12-17-2004, 03:00 AM
#6
sliceandcode is offline sliceandcode
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Aug 2004
Location: California
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 1,004
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

sliceandcode is on a distinguished road

  Old

Thanks a lot for all the help! I really appreciated this

Closed Thread    


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed