Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,471
There are 1095 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     Programming     Javascript :

Jquery Help

Thread title: Jquery Help
Closed Thread    
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
07-03-2008, 05:30 PM
#1
blindchild02 is offline blindchild02
blindchild02's Avatar
Status: TF Veteran
Join date: Jan 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 3,258
iTrader: 2 / 100%
 

blindchild02 is on a distinguished road

  Old  Jquery Help

I currently have this:
http://www.blindchild.net/blindchild.../4/index2.html

If you click the links at the bottom, it works exactly as I'd like it to... but if you click one of those links, and click a sublink, it doesnt scroll smoothly. It just jumps to it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

07-04-2008, 12:39 AM
#2
Garrett is offline Garrett
Status: Waving
Join date: Aug 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,694
iTrader: 11 / 100%
 

Garrett is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Garrett

  Old

I have no clue, that code is all spaced weird, so it's hard to read.

07-04-2008, 02:01 AM
#3
blindchild02 is offline blindchild02
blindchild02's Avatar
Status: TF Veteran
Join date: Jan 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 3,258
iTrader: 2 / 100%
 

blindchild02 is on a distinguished road

  Old

lol, I followed this tutorial:
http://jqueryfordesigners.com/coda-slider-effect/

07-04-2008, 02:42 AM
#4
Garrett is offline Garrett
Status: Waving
Join date: Aug 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,694
iTrader: 11 / 100%
 

Garrett is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Garrett

  Old

Add the class="navigation" on the link and it will work

It is listening for clicks with that class on it, notice:
$('#slider .navigation').find('a').click(selectNav);

Or if you like, you can do:
$('#panel').find('a').click(selectNav);
$('#slider .navigation').find('a').click(selectNav);

And it will listen to links inside the panel as well. Hope I have helped

07-04-2008, 03:25 AM
#5
blindchild02 is offline blindchild02
blindchild02's Avatar
Status: TF Veteran
Join date: Jan 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 3,258
iTrader: 2 / 100%
 

blindchild02 is on a distinguished road

  Old

Still doesnt seem to work :\

I changed the code in the script, and added the class to the links, and it still just jumps to the panel, rather than sliding :|

07-04-2008, 03:59 AM
#6
blindchild02 is offline blindchild02
blindchild02's Avatar
Status: TF Veteran
Join date: Jan 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 3,258
iTrader: 2 / 100%
 

blindchild02 is on a distinguished road

  Old

On the tutorial I followed it says this:


Any Link Triggers Effect

Requirement 5: Any link on the page that refers back to a panel should trigger the effect

Since we're all lazy developers, we don't want to have to specifically markup arbitrary links on the page that should trigger this effect.

This is where Ariel's localScroll plugin comes to the rescue. By just applying that plugin with our default settings any link on the page will trigger the effect. In addition, because we're going to trigger our 'scrollerComplete' function when the effect has finished, it will correctly select the navigation associated.
But it doesnt work for me, lol

07-04-2008, 04:06 AM
#7
Garrett is offline Garrett
Status: Waving
Join date: Aug 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,694
iTrader: 11 / 100%
 

Garrett is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Garrett

  Old

There is also this selector:

var el = $('#slider .navigation').find('a[href$="' + data.id + '"]').get(0);

I am sure if you do:

var el = $('.navigation').find('a[href$="' + data.id + '"]').get(0);

It will find anything with the class of navigation and do it.

07-04-2008, 04:10 AM
#8
blindchild02 is offline blindchild02
blindchild02's Avatar
Status: TF Veteran
Join date: Jan 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 3,258
iTrader: 2 / 100%
 

blindchild02 is on a distinguished road

  Old

changed the code, and it still doesnt seem to work, lol.

I dunno whats wrong with this thing

I do appreciate your effort in helping though thanks very much!

07-05-2008, 07:05 PM
#9
blindchild02 is offline blindchild02
blindchild02's Avatar
Status: TF Veteran
Join date: Jan 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 3,258
iTrader: 2 / 100%
 

blindchild02 is on a distinguished road

  Old

haha I got it! had the name of one of the scripts spelled incorrectly!

PS. Garrett your PM inbox is full

Closed Thread    


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed