Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,471
There are 589 users currently browsing (tf).

Our Partners:

TalkFreelance     Design and Development     Programming     Development Software and Tools :

CMS - Do you use one?

Thread title: CMS - Do you use one?
Closed Thread  
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
02-23-2006, 07:57 PM
Lewis Malpas is offline Lewis Malpas
Expertise:
Software:

Lewis Malpas is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Lewis Malpas

Old  CMS - Do you use one?

Hey guys,

Ok I have never used a CMS before and I’m wondering do any designers use one to update their portfolios? I currently never update my actual website due to it being coded in tables which is a total pain and I get bored of having to manually edit the content on every page.

Also, could I setup a CMS system where if I change a section on page, for example the news box, it would change the news on the other corresponding pages?

I have heard of some pre-made CMS systems such as mambo, however do you think I would need a custom built CMS system?

Thanks,
Lewis.

02-26-2006, 05:01 PM
DateinaDash is offline DateinaDash
Expertise:
Software:

DateinaDash is on a distinguished road

Old

Doubt you would need a custom built CMS, there are so many out there now, even things like wordpress could work well. I think the web is moving more and more into CMS as opposed to manually editing code and such.

02-26-2006, 05:36 PM
resolva is offline resolva
Software:

resolva is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to resolva

Old

Yes i agree with what Robson says. There are many CMS's out their which can be customised to your liking. A custom CMS would obviously cost alot more but it could be made to suit your exact needs.

02-26-2006, 06:58 PM
bgolat is offline bgolat
Software:

bgolat is on a distinguished road