Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,471
There are 832 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     Programming     PHP and MySQL :

PHP question - security

Thread title: PHP question - security
Closed Thread  
Page 2 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
02-05-2007, 06:35 PM
#11
Amross is offline Amross
Status: Member
Join date: Jan 2007
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 311
iTrader: 4 / 100%
 

Amross is on a distinguished road

  Old

Well that would depend on your server.

02-05-2007, 06:43 PM
#12
Village Genius is offline Village Genius
Village Genius's Avatar
Status: Geek
Join date: Apr 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Expertise: Software
Software: Chrome, Notepad++
 
Posts: 6,894
iTrader: 18 / 100%
 

Village Genius will become famous soon enough

  Old

Put the encrypted data in your mysql database and allow the destination servers IP access to it (cpanel can do this). Of course with a secure user name and password the other server can log in and get the data. if you are this worried about security look into getting a SSL cert.

02-05-2007, 06:45 PM
#13
Salathe is offline Salathe
Salathe's Avatar
Status: Community Archaeologist
Join date: Jul 2004
Location: Scotland
Expertise: Software Development
Software: vim, PHP
 
Posts: 3,820
iTrader: 25 / 100%
 

Salathe will become famous soon enough

Send a message via MSN to Salathe

  Old

If I'm not mistaken (chances are that I am...) he wants something like:
PHP Code:
<?php

// Script running on www.myclientsite.com

// Set up db connection to remote server
include('http://www.remoteserver.com/db_conn.php');

// Now we can use the $db object
$db->query(...);
If you're trying to implement something like that, there's no way you can hide the connection details.

02-05-2007, 06:51 PM
#14
Village Genius is offline Village Genius
Village Genius's Avatar
Status: Geek
Join date: Apr 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Expertise: Software
Software: Chrome, Notepad++
 
Posts: 6,894
iTrader: 18 / 100%
 

Village Genius will become famous soon enough

  Old

im talking about a different method alltogether.

02-05-2007, 06:52 PM
#15
Alex Eyre is offline Alex Eyre
Alex Eyre's Avatar
Status: Designer
Join date: Aug 2006
Location: Manchester
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 1,132
iTrader: 5 / 100%
 

Alex Eyre is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Alex Eyre

  Old

heres an outline of what I was thinking.

PHP Code:
<?php

include ('http://www.blah.com/blah.php');

$query="...";
mysql_query($query);
?
php>
I need to be able to add a value everytime the value is run if there is any better ideas?
Alex

02-05-2007, 06:55 PM
#16
Village Genius is offline Village Genius
Village Genius's Avatar
Status: Geek
Join date: Apr 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Expertise: Software
Software: Chrome, Notepad++
 
Posts: 6,894
iTrader: 18 / 100%
 

Village Genius will become famous soon enough

  Old

I was unaware you could include a file from another site.

btw. halotree06, please revise your sig

02-05-2007, 06:58 PM
#17
Alex Eyre is offline Alex Eyre
Alex Eyre's Avatar
Status: Designer
Join date: Aug 2006
Location: Manchester
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 1,132
iTrader: 5 / 100%
 

Alex Eyre is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Alex Eyre

  Old

is that a definate no? hold on ill try and do it on PHP now.
Alex.

02-05-2007, 08:55 PM
#18
Alex Eyre is offline Alex Eyre
Alex Eyre's Avatar
Status: Designer
Join date: Aug 2006
Location: Manchester
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 1,132
iTrader: 5 / 100%
 

Alex Eyre is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Alex Eyre

  Old

seems to be working for me =]
but are there any other ways i can dot his securely (so they dont get the password to the database?
Alex

02-06-2007, 06:04 PM
#19
Alex Eyre is offline Alex Eyre
Alex Eyre's Avatar
Status: Designer
Join date: Aug 2006
Location: Manchester
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 1,132
iTrader: 5 / 100%
 

Alex Eyre is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Alex Eyre

  Old

after talking with WildHoney,
I think I will have to use an API to connect to a remote PHP script and go through that. Therefore I am appealing for anyone with a tutorial link to how to go about making one to link me please!
Thanks, Alex.

02-06-2007, 06:37 PM
#20
Salathe is offline Salathe
Salathe's Avatar
Status: Community Archaeologist
Join date: Jul 2004
Location: Scotland
Expertise: Software Development
Software: vim, PHP
 
Posts: 3,820
iTrader: 25 / 100%
 

Salathe will become famous soon enough

Send a message via MSN to Salathe

  Old

An API is just as easy to make as a "normal" PHP page, the only difference is that the intended audience is a machine rather than a person browsing your site. Instead of outputting HTML, you'll just as likely be outputting XML (JSON, PHP, plain text or, yes, HTML).

I'm still not clear what you're trying to achieve. Is it just that whenever your PHP script is executed (on lots of different websites) they "call home" and update something (hit counter in DB, possibly)?

Closed Thread  
Page 2 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed