Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,471
There are 1091 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     HTML/XHTML/DHTML/CSS :

Help fix my tables (IE vs FireFox)

Thread title: Help fix my tables (IE vs FireFox)
Closed Thread    
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
04-05-2005, 02:20 PM
#1
ChrisIsBored is offline ChrisIsBored
Status: I'm new around here
Join date: Mar 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 3
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

ChrisIsBored is on a distinguished road

  Old  Help fix my tables (IE vs FireFox)

I have a bit of a problem with my tables showing differently between IE and Mozilla. A space is popping between my images in Internet Explorer 6.0 and i'm not too certain why. Any help is appreciated... this is how it looks:




And this is the code, simplified a bit by renaming images:

Code:
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" width="175">
<tr><IMG SRC="img_nametwo.gif" WIDTH="175" HEIGHT="15"></tr>
<tr>
	<td>
	<table border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" width="175">
	<tr><td width="100%">

				<table border="0" background="middle.gif" cellspacing="5" cellpadding="3" width="100%" bgcolor="#eeeeee"><tr>
                  <td width="100%" valign="middle">
				  <?php        }
			        echo "$block[content]\n"; ?>
				</td></tr></table>

	</td></tr></table><tr><td width="100%"><img src="bottom.gif" alt="" /></td></tr>
</td></tr></table>

04-05-2005, 09:00 PM
#2
EazMan is offline EazMan
EazMan's Avatar
Status: Junior Member
Join date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada!
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 48
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

EazMan is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to EazMan

  Old

i'm pretty shure that ie creates spaces between tables. also on the second table there is 5px cellpadding, which could also cause this.

04-05-2005, 09:03 PM
#3
Paul is offline Paul
Status: I love this place
Join date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 723
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Paul is on a distinguished road

  Old

In IE sometimes the way your code is written it will put spaces in it.
Yours is:

</td></tr></table>

</td></tr></table><tr><td width="100%"><img src="bottom.gif" alt="" /></td></tr>
</td></tr></table>

Now try:

<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" width="175">
<tr><IMG SRC="img_nametwo.gif" WIDTH="175" HEIGHT="15"></tr>
<tr><td>
<table border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" width="175">
<tr><td width="100%">

<table border="0" background="middle.gif" cellspacing="5" cellpadding="3" width="100%" bgcolor="#eeeeee"><tr>
<td width="100%" valign="middle">
<?php }
echo "$block[content]\n"; ?>
</td></tr></table></td></tr></table>

<tr><td width="100%"><img src="bottom.gif" alt="" /></td></tr>
</td></tr></table>

It usually works.
Or you have some sort of cellpadding or cellspacing on that table, which you don't so hopefully that works for you.

Edit: It bunches up your code but thats why IE blows because Microsoft wants you to code your websites with thier products so it has funky little things like that.

04-05-2005, 09:07 PM
#4
Anthony is offline Anthony
Status: Sin Binner
Join date: Jul 2004
Location: Yorkshire Coast - UK
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: 29 / 91%
 

Anthony is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Anthony

  Old

try table alignment rather than image alignment. Always works with me

<td valign="bottom"> or <td valign="top">

04-06-2005, 09:22 PM
#5
Lee is offline Lee
Lee's Avatar
Status: Junior Member
Join date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 52
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Lee is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Lee

  Old

vAlign tags arent valid HTML, so that could cause some problems in itself, but i use it anyway. i havent had any as of yet, but you dont wanna be fixing a problem and creating a new one. check that out first.

04-07-2005, 01:52 AM
#6
ChrisIsBored is offline ChrisIsBored
Status: I'm new around here
Join date: Mar 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 3
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

ChrisIsBored is on a distinguished road

  Old

Thanks guys, I figured out the issue was a missing tag closure. IE detected it and showed a space, the other browsers ignored it.

Thanks for the help

04-08-2005, 09:11 PM
#7
EazMan is offline EazMan
EazMan's Avatar
Status: Junior Member
Join date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada!
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 48
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

EazMan is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to EazMan

  Old

Originally Posted by Lee
vAlign tags arent valid HTML, so that could cause some problems in itself, but i use it anyway. i havent had any as of yet, but you dont wanna be fixing a problem and creating a new one. check that out first.
its odd, i know that valign is not valid, yet w3c online validator overlooked it

04-09-2005, 05:11 PM
#8
Lee is offline Lee
Lee's Avatar
Status: Junior Member
Join date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 52
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Lee is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Lee

  Old

oooooo. normally when i have them it picks up on them. post exactly what you put please? i wanna see this...

Closed Thread    


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed