Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,471
There are 733 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     Programming     Development Software and Tools :

Wordpress - Horizontal Posts

Thread title: Wordpress - Horizontal Posts
Closed Thread    
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
02-02-2007, 11:25 AM
#1
t0m is offline t0m
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Jan 2005
Location: West Sussex, England
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,829
iTrader: 21 / 100%
 

t0m is on a distinguished road

  Old  Wordpress - Horizontal Posts

Okay i have seen a thread very similar to this but it never seemed to provide me the answer i need!

How can i modify my wordpress posts so that they display horizontally and are a small square (i.e. cssremix.com)

If anyone has done this..please let me know, and if you could help explain it, would be great!

I'll be working with the default wordpress theme btw, so its a clean start!

02-02-2007, 02:25 PM
#2
Jeff Andersen is offline Jeff Andersen
Status: Superstar
Join date: Apr 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 4,449
iTrader: 10 / 100%
 

Jeff Andersen is on a distinguished road

  Old

Well, you could just wrap the post in a small div and set things to float left, then it would repeat the square as many times to the right and then return.

Other than that, it could just be a custom query.

02-02-2007, 05:02 PM
#3
t0m is offline t0m
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Jan 2005
Location: West Sussex, England
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,829
iTrader: 21 / 100%
 

t0m is on a distinguished road

  Old

Originally Posted by Jeff Andersen View Post
Well, you could just wrap the post in a small div and set things to float left, then it would repeat the square as many times to the right and then return.

Other than that, it could just be a custom query.
Do you set the div width on the index or the css file?

02-02-2007, 05:10 PM
#4
Salathe is offline Salathe
Salathe's Avatar
Status: Community Archaeologist
Join date: Jul 2004
Location: Scotland
Expertise: Software Development
Software: vim, PHP
 
Posts: 3,820
iTrader: 25 / 100%
 

Salathe will become famous soon enough

Send a message via MSN to Salathe

  Old

It's nothing specific to Wordpress really, just basic CSS styling. The most common method is to float the divs and set appropriate widths, margins, etc as you see fit.

02-02-2007, 05:15 PM
#5
t0m is offline t0m
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Jan 2005
Location: West Sussex, England
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,829
iTrader: 21 / 100%
 

t0m is on a distinguished road

  Old

Thanks for the advice guys, I just thought there was some special way of doing it! Clearly its pretty simple - once you get the logic your half way there, will update on how I get on!

02-02-2007, 05:33 PM
#6
t0m is offline t0m
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Jan 2005
Location: West Sussex, England
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,829
iTrader: 21 / 100%
 

t0m is on a distinguished road

  Old

CSS:
#content {
float:left;
width:100px;
margin:10px;
min-height:400px;
}

And i get this: http://gloomb.com/test/

the width of each post seems appropriate but they dont go next to each other, they move below

Thanks for the patience

Edit: I assume with the above code, i've changed the whole div content to 100px, rather than the individual post... for example the div should be 500px and each post should be 100px

I guess I changed the wrong one

02-02-2007, 05:36 PM
#7
Jeff Andersen is offline Jeff Andersen
Status: Superstar
Join date: Apr 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 4,449
iTrader: 10 / 100%
 

Jeff Andersen is on a distinguished road

  Old

You would have to have the float: left; on your entry div.

02-02-2007, 05:40 PM
#8
Salathe is offline Salathe
Salathe's Avatar
Status: Community Archaeologist
Join date: Jul 2004
Location: Scotland
Expertise: Software Development
Software: vim, PHP
 
Posts: 3,820
iTrader: 25 / 100%
 

Salathe will become famous soon enough

Send a message via MSN to Salathe

  Old

Change #content to .entry

02-02-2007, 05:44 PM
#9
t0m is offline t0m
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Jan 2005
Location: West Sussex, England
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,829
iTrader: 21 / 100%
 

t0m is on a distinguished road

  Old

Ah ha! I found it, good stuff guys thanks for the most obvious of help! Once i've had the logic etc explain to me, it all becomes so very clear. Cheers!

Problem! Having adjusted the .entry stuff to get it working I have stumbled across ths problem...

http://gloomb.tomstill.com/test/
http://gloomb.com/test/?page_id=2

You will see that the about page is also formatted like this, how can I retain the width on the about page?

I've tried adding another part to the css and changing it in the relevant template file but it screws the lot up

Closed Thread    


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed