Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,471
There are 570 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     Programming     Other Programming Languages :

AJAX Update Table, MySQL

Thread title: AJAX Update Table, MySQL
Closed Thread    
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
05-06-2007, 06:11 PM
#1
Seraskier is offline Seraskier
Status: I love this place
Join date: Jan 2007
Location: Charlotte
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 542
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Seraskier is an unknown quantity at this point

Send a message via AIM to Seraskier Send a message via MSN to Seraskier

  Old  AJAX Update Table, MySQL

How would I use AJAX to update a table in my database by clicking a link or image?

Sincerely,
Jordan Martin
Seraskier

05-06-2007, 06:39 PM
#2
Salathe is offline Salathe
Salathe's Avatar
Status: Community Archaeologist
Join date: Jul 2004
Location: Scotland
Expertise: Software Development
Software: vim, PHP
 
Posts: 3,820
iTrader: 25 / 100%
 

Salathe will become famous soon enough

Send a message via MSN to Salathe

  Old

Learn how to do it without AJAX first, then it's a very simple and easy step to Ajaxify it. There are thousands of tutorial out there to help you, so many it'd be pointless me linking you to some when a 10 second Google search will yield much more information.

05-06-2007, 06:48 PM
#3
Seraskier is offline Seraskier
Status: I love this place
Join date: Jan 2007
Location: Charlotte
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 542
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Seraskier is an unknown quantity at this point

Send a message via AIM to Seraskier Send a message via MSN to Seraskier

  Old

I can do it without AJAX but it's kinda sloppy. But I have no idea where to start. Can you point me in the right direction?

05-06-2007, 07:32 PM
#4
Joshimitsu is offline Joshimitsu
Status: Member
Join date: Jan 2007
Location: England
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 229
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Joshimitsu is an unknown quantity at this point

Send a message via MSN to Joshimitsu

  Old

You could link to the page with $_GET

PHP Code:
<?php
 
if ($_GET['update'])
 {
 
$update $_GET['update'];
  if (
$update == 'yes')
  {
  
UPDATE code here
  
}
 }
normal output here
?>

You can then link to:

page.php?update=yes

That's a quick base than can be expanded upon.

05-06-2007, 07:38 PM
#5
Seraskier is offline Seraskier
Status: I love this place
Join date: Jan 2007
Location: Charlotte
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 542
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Seraskier is an unknown quantity at this point

Send a message via AIM to Seraskier Send a message via MSN to Seraskier

  Old

well that would still include having to go to another page...AJAX can do it without having to leave the page.

That would work but I want to get started in AJAX.

05-06-2007, 08:57 PM
#6
Seraskier is offline Seraskier
Status: I love this place
Join date: Jan 2007
Location: Charlotte
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 542
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Seraskier is an unknown quantity at this point

Send a message via AIM to Seraskier Send a message via MSN to Seraskier

  Old

I can't find a SINGLE tutorial on how I could mysql with ajax. Please help me.

Sincerely,
Jordan Martin
Seraskier

05-06-2007, 11:22 PM
#7
unclekyky is offline unclekyky
unclekyky's Avatar
Status: Junior Member
Join date: May 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 43
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

unclekyky is on a distinguished road

  Old

Did you even search google? The third result for PHP AJAX yielded this:
http://www.johnwiseman.ca/blogging/?p=61
(It took a really long time to load for me, because of all the comments.)

Anyway, good luck.

05-08-2007, 02:53 PM
#8
Imusion is offline Imusion
Status: Member
Join date: Feb 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 208
iTrader: 8 / 100%
 

Imusion is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Imusion

  Old

I suggest you take a look at "Xajax". Google it up and you should be able to find their homepage. Xajax provides a very nice bridge for PHP coders like me who want to have AJAX capabilities without having to learn the AJAX part!

Closed Thread    


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed