Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,471
There are 1090 users currently browsing (tf).

Our Partners:

TalkFreelance     Business and Website Management     Contracts, Business and Legal Help :

Business tips for a 16 year old web designer?

Thread title: Business tips for a 16 year old web designer?
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
04-24-2011, 12:35 PM
andrewsuzuki is offline andrewsuzuki
Expertise: design/development
Software: Coda, Photoshop

andrewsuzuki is on a distinguished road

Old  Business tips for a 16 year old web designer?

Hello, I've just created my domain and went live.
Do you have any tips for me, being "underage"?
I'm a web designer/developer, and I'm working on building up my portfolio on templates. Is this a good idea? I don't have any real jobs yet.
This is my site if it helps... andrewsuzuki.com
Thank you.

04-24-2011, 01:41 PM
Lowengard is offline Lowengard
Expertise: all editorial, bsns consulting
Software: zotero

Lowengard is an unknown quantity at this point

Old  welcome.

Andrew, here are three things you should consider as you are starting your business.

1. Why are you starting a business?
Are you doing this "because you can"? Are you looking for a summer job you might do poolside? Have you designed a few sites for family or friends and now want to see if you can make something more of it? Is this a school assignment? Did your greatest rival start a business last week so you need to do it too? Something else?
There is no wrong answer, and you don't need to articulate your reasons here, but knowing why you want to start a business feeds into question 2:
2. What do you want from the business?