Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,472
There are 1458 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     HTML/XHTML/DHTML/CSS :

Fixing IE6 for compliance using Javascript libraries

Thread title: Fixing IE6 for compliance using Javascript libraries
Closed Thread    
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
05-18-2007, 05:30 AM
#1
webukdesign is offline webukdesign
webukdesign's Avatar
Status: Junior Member
Join date: Apr 2007
Location: Nottingham, England
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 44
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

webukdesign is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to webukdesign

  Old  Fixing IE6 for compliance using Javascript libraries

Here's an article on how to fix IE6 to perform 'like' a standards compliant browser using Dean Edwards' javascript libraries:

http://www.grumpycoder.co.uk/how-to-...ipt-libraries/

Tell me if you have anything else that could be added to the article as I am looking to improve it

05-18-2007, 02:00 PM
#2
daz is offline daz
Status: I love this place
Join date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 562
iTrader: 5 / 100%
 

daz is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to daz

  Old

Poorly coded imo and relies on the 'if IF' hack which doesn't always work if you are behind a proxy server. I don't see the real need to fix IE 6 anyway. I use
Code:
* {
margin: 0; padding: 0;
}
in all my work and I rarely have any problems with IE 6. If I do, it's just a matter of doing it a different way eg. instead of padding which IE messes up sometimes I can use line-height.

05-18-2007, 02:09 PM
#3
Steven Fergus is offline Steven Fergus
Status: Hey, I'm Steven
Join date: Feb 2007
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 1,212
iTrader: 3 / 100%
 

Steven Fergus is on a distinguished road

  Old

Originally Posted by daz View Post
Poorly coded imo and relies on the 'if IF' hack which doesn't always work if you are behind a proxy server. I don't see the real need to fix IE 6 anyway. I use
Code:
* {
margin: 0; padding: 0;
}
in all my work and I rarely have any problems with IE 6. If I do, it's just a matter of doing it a different way eg. instead of padding which IE messes up sometimes I can use line-height.
I don't think you even need that.
Code:
body {
     margin:0; 
     padding:0; 
}
Is all I use.

05-18-2007, 05:51 PM
#4
daz is offline daz
Status: I love this place
Join date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 562
iTrader: 5 / 100%
 

daz is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to daz

  Old

You do need it.
Code:
* {
margin: 0;
padding: 0;
}
removes the default margin/padding on all elements. I think your code works as well though.

05-18-2007, 06:43 PM
#5
Awesome is offline Awesome
Awesome's Avatar
Status: Pastafarian
Join date: May 2006
Location: Duct Taped to your Ceiling
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 3,440
iTrader: 26 / 93%
 

Awesome is on a distinguished road

  Old

Ya, but these JS 'IE FIX' hacks open a whole new can of worms. It's best to write good, solid code. You'll rarely have any issue with any browser.

Whoever wrote this blog article clearly didn't bother looking into what theyw ere talking about "the day has come!"? These scripts were released over 3 years ago.

05-18-2007, 07:20 PM
#6
webukdesign is offline webukdesign
webukdesign's Avatar
Status: Junior Member
Join date: Apr 2007
Location: Nottingham, England
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 44
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

webukdesign is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to webukdesign

  Old

Thanks for your feedback guys.

Yes I did try to emphasise in the conclusions that this wasn't a fix for bad coding. This can be a useful too though I believe when used alongside a quality layout provided any features used degrade gracefully. Perhaps I will add that to the article.

Yes thank you Ire I was aware that it has been around for some time. I think it's worth publicising because, as an idea, it has potential and deserves a team of programmers somewhere to pick it up. I want to start using new selectors

05-19-2007, 05:00 AM
#7
Awesome is offline Awesome
Awesome's Avatar
Status: Pastafarian
Join date: May 2006
Location: Duct Taped to your Ceiling
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 3,440
iTrader: 26 / 93%
 

Awesome is on a distinguished road

  Old

Originally Posted by webukdesign View Post
Yes thank you Ire I was aware that it has been around for some time. I think it's worth publicising because, as an idea, it has potential and deserves a team of programmers somewhere to pick it up. I want to start using new selectors
If you develop with fall backs for older browsers in mind you can start using the newer (only 3+ years old!) selectors now; just don't let the functionality of the project rest on them

05-18-2007, 07:23 PM
#8
Steven Fergus is offline Steven Fergus
Status: Hey, I'm Steven
Join date: Feb 2007
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 1,212
iTrader: 3 / 100%
 

Steven Fergus is on a distinguished road

  Old

I think too many people rely on these so call 'fixes'. With good code, you can code a website for both IE6 and FF, for example. With no 'fixes' needed.

Closed Thread    


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed