Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,471
There are 1381 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     Programming     Javascript :

<script> tab breaks floats in Firefox?

Thread title: <script> tab breaks floats in Firefox?
Closed Thread    
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
09-24-2007, 10:40 PM
#1
skillet is offline skillet
skillet's Avatar
Status: I'm new around here
Join date: Feb 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 8
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

skillet is on a distinguished road

  Old  <script> tab breaks floats in Firefox?

When I insert javascript into a floated Div, it breaks everything in Firefox. It works fine in IE, but it seems like Firefox is rendering the <script> tag as a "block" and causing all the other floats in line to drop to the bottom.

Here's the code:
Code:
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://itde.vccs.edu/rss2js/feed2js.php?src=http%3A%2F%2Ffeeds.feedburner.com%2FTheSietch&chan=n&num=1&desc=0&date=n&targ=n"> </script>
Has anyone else ran into this problem?

09-24-2007, 10:49 PM
#2
Salathe is offline Salathe
Salathe's Avatar
Status: Community Archaeologist
Join date: Jul 2004
Location: Scotland
Expertise: Software Development
Software: vim, PHP
 
Posts: 3,820
iTrader: 25 / 100%
 

Salathe will become famous soon enough

Send a message via MSN to Salathe

  Old

I don't think that the problem is the <script> tag itself, but the HTML that is rendered by the JavaScript script. Perhaps use CSS to style .rss_box appropriately to fix your issue.

09-24-2007, 10:52 PM
#3
skillet is offline skillet
skillet's Avatar
Status: I'm new around here
Join date: Feb 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 8
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

skillet is on a distinguished road

  Old

Yes, I have tried modifying the CSS code that is rendered by the javascript, but have not had any luck.

09-24-2007, 10:59 PM
#4
skillet is offline skillet
skillet's Avatar
Status: I'm new around here
Join date: Feb 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 8
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

skillet is on a distinguished road

  Old

For example, I can paste the code below, which renders the same exact HTML, yet it shows up fine in Firefox:
Code:
<script type="text/javascript">
		document.write('<div class="rss_box">');
		document.write('<ul class="rss_items">');
		document.write('<li class="rss_item"><a class="rss_item" href="http://feeds.feedburner.com/~r/TheSietch/~3/160627565/"  target="_self">Building For Social Responsibility</a>');
		document.write('</li>');
		document.write('</ul></div>');
</script>
Which brings me to the conclusion that there is something within this script that is bugging it out:
Code:
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://itde.vccs.edu/rss2js/feed2js.php?src=http%3A%2F%2Ffeeds.feedburner.com%2FTheSietch&chan=n&num=1&desc=0&date=n&targ=n"> </script>

09-25-2007, 02:51 PM
#5
skillet is offline skillet
skillet's Avatar
Status: I'm new around here
Join date: Feb 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 8
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

skillet is on a distinguished road

  Old

Ok, I found the issue.

Apparently the <script> tag in Firefox doesn't like the "display:table" I had assigned to my container. After removing that, everything fell back into place.

Thanks for taking a look!

Closed Thread    


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed