Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,471
There are 1511 users currently browsing (tf).

Our Partners:

TalkFreelance     Business and Website Management     Contracts, Business and Legal Help :

getting set up as an independent contractor

Thread title: getting set up as an independent contractor
Closed Thread    
10-23-2007, 08:20 PM
donkylegs is offline donkylegs
Software:

donkylegs is on a distinguished road

Old  getting set up as an independent contractor

I have been working for several months now for a rather large company doing product photography and photoshop work. I was hired basiclly as a temp but my supervisors have requested that I set my self up as an independent contractor. Since no longer working as a temp means a signifigant increase in my earning I am certain that this is what I want to do, but where do i start. Is it as simple as having a bank acount a tax id #, and keeping up with my own taxes? How should the paper work be handled, di I just produce a professional looking invoice for my time and costs. Do I have to have a Doing Business as id. If any one could give me some advice or point me in a direction that might help it would be greatly apriciated.

Thanks

10-23-2007, 10:01 PM
patrickPaul is offline patrickPaul
Expertise:
Software:

patrickPaul is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to patrickPaul Send a message via MSN to patrickPaul Send a message via Yahoo to patrickPaul

Old

In all honesty, you don't need anything but a bank account and Microsoft Office Do your work and send official invoices.Then... just claim your wages when you fill out your taxes. You won't be withholding your own taxes so be prepared to owe a lot of money in April

Let's let someone with a business degree answer first though...

Best Regards,
Patrick

11-11-2007, 01:30 AM
amf is offline amf
Expertise:
Software:

amf is on a distinguished road

Old