Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 34,104
Total Threads: 151,380
Total Posts: 638,063
There are 152 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     Hardware Discussion :

Tv or monitor?

Thread title: Tv or monitor?
Reply  
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
01-28-2009, 10:04 PM
#1
Phelms215 is offline Phelms215
Status: Junior Member
Join date: Nov 2006
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 89
iTrader: 6 / 100%
 

Phelms215 is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to Phelms215 Send a message via MSN to Phelms215

  Old  Tv or monitor?

Hello,

I am looking at buying a second monitor for my computer (so when I play wow or do work on websites I can have aim and the internet in one) and cs4 or games on the other...

I was looking between 2 things a 24" lcd monitor (which is the largest I would need) and a 32" hdtv .. which is a tad more.. the question that I have is I would like to also use that second monitor as my tv (put on angled stand on my wall.

(I have a box so the connection wouldn't a problem, just use hdmi .. but the thing I am afraid of is if I used the monitor would I be able to use a remote to turn the tv on, change the volume etc? or would i have to buy the tv to have the IR receptors in it?

---
also I wanted to know if there was any adapter that I could turn my logitech x530 speakers to use both my pc and my tv (and have a remote setup to em both.. ?


thanks in advance

Reply With Quote
01-28-2009, 11:23 PM
#2
Doughboy is offline Doughboy
Doughboy's Avatar
Status: Member
Join date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 176
iTrader: 2 / 100%
 

Doughboy is on a distinguished road

  Old

What model / brand is the 24" LCD?

Reply With Quote
01-31-2009, 07:38 AM
#3
weblover50 is offline weblover50
weblover50's Avatar
Status: I love this place
Join date: Jan 2009
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 622
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

weblover50 is on a distinguished road

  Old

you should buy LCD 19" inches because it is more continent as compare to monitor.

Reply With Quote
01-31-2009, 09:26 AM
#4
BetaOrange is offline BetaOrange
Status: I love this place
Join date: Nov 2007
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Expertise: Design / Coding
Software: Photoshop, iTunes, Firefox
 
Posts: 660
iTrader: 9 / 100%
 

BetaOrange is an unknown quantity at this point

  Old

Originally Posted by weblover50 View Post
you should buy LCD 19" inches because it is more continent as compare to monitor.
Please, speak english.

why only get a 19"? Most people nowadays have 22"+, or atleast want one that size.

Reply With Quote
01-31-2009, 09:45 AM
#5
Sahil is offline Sahil
Status: Sin Binner
Join date: Nov 2006
Location: Singapore.
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 1,363
iTrader: 3 / 64%
 

Sahil is an unknown quantity at this point

Send a message via AIM to Sahil Send a message via MSN to Sahil

  Old

I have a Dell and I'm very happy with it (24").

Reply With Quote
01-31-2009, 02:36 PM
#6
Vizon is offline Vizon - Click for my Image
Status: R'tard
Join date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,959
iTrader: 21 / 100%
 

Vizon is an unknown quantity at this point

  Old

Probably a TV, or else I believe you'd need a TV tuner.

Reply With Quote
01-31-2009, 02:49 PM
#7
rezzy is offline rezzy
Status: I'm new around here
Join date: Jan 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC USA
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 4
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

rezzy is on a distinguished road

  Old

The thing about having such a huge screen, you will still be faced with the same problems as if you have a 15". The real difference, (for me at least) is doing a dual screen. Because I can code, look at something on each screen.

You are just going to blow up the same picture up bigger. But to answer your question. It really depends on how close you intend to sit to it. If you are sitting at a desk.... I would say monitor. If you are working in a living room and intend to work on it from a couch, the tv screen would be a benefit.

Reply With Quote
01-31-2009, 03:05 PM
#8
NavySeal is offline NavySeal
Status: Member
Join date: Mar 2006
Location: CA
Expertise: programming
Software:
 
Posts: 136
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

NavySeal is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to NavySeal

  Old

I just bought my Vizio 32" LCD TV to use mainly for xbox and tv but also to use as a second monitor when i need to do work that involves a lot of workspace. However, it is important to note that the 24" monitor might have a bigger resolution then the TV you buy depending if you buy 720p or 1080p. I believe the resolution of 720p is 1366x768 where 1080p is somewhere around 1980x1080. So it isn't the size that always matters its also the resolution if your looking for more space for your programs.

Reply With Quote
01-31-2009, 07:06 PM
#9
Jeff Andersen is offline Jeff Andersen
Status: Superstar
Join date: Apr 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 4,449
iTrader: 10 / 100%
 

Jeff Andersen is on a distinguished road

  Old

Originally Posted by Vizon View Post
Probably a TV, or else I believe you'd need a TV tuner.
Not if he has a digital box or HD box, cause most monitors accept DVI or HDMI now.

Reply With Quote
02-09-2009, 05:41 PM
#10
weblover50 is offline weblover50
weblover50's Avatar
Status: I love this place
Join date: Jan 2009
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 622
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

weblover50 is on a distinguished road

  Old

you should buy LCD monitor because it is more easy in use.

Reply With Quote
Reply  
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >


Thread Tools
Display Modes

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed