Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 34,104
Total Threads: 151,380
Total Posts: 638,063
There are 155 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     Browsers and Operating Systems :

Why Firefox is still crap...

Thread title: Why Firefox is still crap...
Closed Thread  
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 >
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
06-17-2008, 04:02 PM
#1
Oliver is offline Oliver
Oliver's Avatar
Status: Resident Epistemologist
Join date: Jan 2006
Location: London, UK
Expertise: Investment, SEO, Marketing
Software: After Effects, Photoshop, Maya
 
Posts: 1,275
iTrader: 34 / 97%
 

Oliver is an unknown quantity at this point

Send a message via MSN to Oliver

  Old  Why Firefox is still crap...



This isn't even that bad, sometimes it rocks up to 1.7gb of Mem usage. It's apparently a memory leak they've never been able to fix. Seems they haven't done so in 3.0 either.

I still use it though, just a pity nobody makes the same extensions for Opera

06-17-2008, 04:08 PM
#2
Hero is offline Hero
Hero's Avatar
Status: Very much the flyest.
Join date: Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 1,171
iTrader: 1 / 100%
 

Hero is on a distinguished road

  Old

It usually doesn't go that high for me.
Right now it's about 200mb, and i have 12 tabs opened. Reasonable I think. How many tags did you have?

06-17-2008, 04:09 PM
#3
Oliver is offline Oliver
Oliver's Avatar
Status: Resident Epistemologist
Join date: Jan 2006
Location: London, UK
Expertise: Investment, SEO, Marketing
Software: After Effects, Photoshop, Maya
 
Posts: 1,275
iTrader: 34 / 97%
 

Oliver is an unknown quantity at this point

Send a message via MSN to Oliver

  Old

I usually have about 40-60 tabs open at any one time in Firefox. Opera seems to be able to handle up to 150+ without pushing 500mb though -.-

I'm not actually bothered by it, it doesn't slow my computer down at all, it's just crazy, that's all.

06-17-2008, 04:11 PM
#4
Digit is offline Digit
Digit's Avatar
Status: Just do it.
Join date: Sep 2005
Location: NY
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,619
iTrader: 6 / 100%
 

Digit is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to Digit Send a message via MSN to Digit

  Old

Yeah, that's no good. Every once and a while I try out another browser (like camino), but I always seem to go back to Firefox. I'm just used to it I guess.

Other than the memory leak, it's a pretty solid browser.

06-17-2008, 04:13 PM
#5
Jako is offline Jako
Jako's Avatar
Status: Jakowenko.com
Join date: Jun 2005
Location: Michigan
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,199
iTrader: 3 / 100%
 

Jako is on a distinguished road

  Old

Why would ever need that many tabs open to begin with? Just curious.

06-17-2008, 04:19 PM
#6
Oliver is offline Oliver
Oliver's Avatar
Status: Resident Epistemologist
Join date: Jan 2006
Location: London, UK
Expertise: Investment, SEO, Marketing
Software: After Effects, Photoshop, Maya
 
Posts: 1,275
iTrader: 34 / 97%
 

Oliver is an unknown quantity at this point

Send a message via MSN to Oliver

  Old

I find it increases my productivity greatly being able to just switch between all the sites i need to, and what i'm browsing for, rather than having to log in all the time.

06-17-2008, 04:35 PM
#7
LeetPCUser is offline LeetPCUser
LeetPCUser's Avatar
Status: Member
Join date: Aug 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 132
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

LeetPCUser is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to LeetPCUser Send a message via MSN to LeetPCUser Send a message via Yahoo to LeetPCUser

  Old

I don't ever have a problem with it. Even though there is a memory leak it still beats anything Microsoft has to offer.

06-17-2008, 04:41 PM
#8
rsek is offline rsek
rsek's Avatar
Status: Designer
Join date: Jun 2005
Location: Belgium
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 3,813
iTrader: 16 / 100%
 

rsek is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to rsek

  Old

you're on windows, thats crap

06-17-2008, 04:46 PM
#9
Oliver is offline Oliver
Oliver's Avatar
Status: Resident Epistemologist
Join date: Jan 2006
Location: London, UK
Expertise: Investment, SEO, Marketing
Software: After Effects, Photoshop, Maya
 
Posts: 1,275
iTrader: 34 / 97%
 

Oliver is an unknown quantity at this point

Send a message via MSN to Oliver

  Old

Originally Posted by rsek View Post
you're on windows, thats crap
Because i'd rather be on a system that hogs even more resources? I'd use Linux if it was compatible with anything.

06-17-2008, 04:51 PM
#10
Andrew R is offline Andrew R
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Dec 2005
Location: Arizona
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 5,200
iTrader: 17 / 95%
 

Andrew R is on a distinguished road

  Old

Linux is compatible with a lot of things...

Also, how do you know they haven't fixed it in 3.0? Sure, it wasn't really fixed in the RC's, but they could've fixed it after the third.

Closed Thread  
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 >


Thread Tools
Display Modes

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed