Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,256
Total Threads: 106,575
Total Posts: 592,698
There are 87 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     Hardware Discussion :

Vista Slow Booting

Thread title: Vista Slow Booting
Closed Thread    
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
10-13-2008, 10:15 PM
#1
t0m is offline t0m
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Jan 2005
Location: West Sussex, England
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,829
iTrader: 21 / 100%
 

t0m is on a distinguished road

  Old  Vista Slow Booting

Hi guys, just looking for some advice really. I have a 2 week old vista laptop, 3GB of Ram, 2.2ghz processor.

It boots slow. Like 3 minutes, from power button to usable - to me this seems a long time?

I've done the usual checks, removed any silly start-up rubbish and it doesn't appear to do anything. Just wondering if this is a bit of a 'vista thing' or if I should be worried.

To clarify, the laptop is nice and quick once loaded, no complaints there - its just booting it seems a tad slow.

(Considering dual booting linux and using that as the default operating system - thoughts on that?)

10-14-2008, 12:08 AM
#2
Vizon is offline Vizon - Click for my Image
Status: R'tard
Join date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,959
iTrader: 21 / 100%
 

Vizon is an unknown quantity at this point

  Old

:O Why'd you buy a PC? My macbook air with a 4200RPM hdd loads faster than that lol. Takes a minute or so to turn on.

10-14-2008, 11:59 AM
#3
crazyryan is offline crazyryan
Status: I love this place
Join date: May 2006
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 603
iTrader: 6 / 100%
 

crazyryan is an unknown quantity at this point

  Old

My PC running Vista boots up in less than a minute, like ... 30 seconds...

10-14-2008, 04:56 PM
#4
Elegant Banners is offline Elegant Banners
Elegant Banners's Avatar
Status: Taiyab (6creations.com)
Join date: Aug 2006
Location: Birmingham, UK
Expertise: UI Design
Software: Photoshop, Firefox, Notepad++
 
Posts: 2,170
iTrader: 16 / 100%
 

Elegant Banners is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Elegant Banners Send a message via Skype™ to Elegant Banners

  Old

That sounds very odd, one of my laptop's runs on Vista and doesn't take that long to load up (2GB RAM, C2D etc.)

Weird.

10-15-2008, 07:49 AM
#5
t0m is offline t0m
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Jan 2005
Location: West Sussex, England
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,829
iTrader: 21 / 100%
 

t0m is on a distinguished road

  Old

Thats the thing, I don't really understand why it should boot so slow, when using it, its fine.

I guess I'll have to dig even further into the startup issue, I've run some diagnostics - its just understanding these thats the issue.

11-03-2008, 04:54 PM
#6
luis_mx is offline luis_mx
Status: Member
Join date: Jul 2006
Location: Falls Church, VA
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 443
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

luis_mx is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to luis_mx

  Old

http://www.tweakhound.com/vista/tweakguide/page_8.htm


http://www.pctipsbox.com/make-your-h...ve-run-faster/

DEFRAG & DISABLING services/start ups+removing adware will leave you with a good system.

Also remove all that aero crap and put your computer for performance mode. Will boot a lot faster. I did that to my Vista, and even though it loads fast it is still not as fast as my Ubuntu .

11-08-2008, 03:03 PM
#7
Randy is offline Randy
Status: Sin Binner
Join date: Jan 2007
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 1,121
iTrader: 13 / 100%
 

Randy is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Randy

  Old

my laptop does the same, however my computer doesn't i think it has something to do with the vista configs and not being optimized for laptop's fully. also try defraging that helped mine alittle bit.

11-09-2008, 10:19 AM
#8
t0m is offline t0m
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Jan 2005
Location: West Sussex, England
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,829
iTrader: 21 / 100%
 

t0m is on a distinguished road

  Old

I still don't understand why I should have to defrag a brand new, out of the box laptop before even using it?

Besides, I doubt this will improve anything - all but a few seconds perhaps.

I'm just frustrated that I'm having to optimise my entire setup, I just don't understand why it should load so slow!

11-18-2008, 08:06 PM
#9
supazoom is offline supazoom
Status: I'm new around here
Join date: Nov 2008
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 13
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

supazoom is on a distinguished road

  Old

Make sure you run windows update/get the new service pack... it helps a lot! Another thing you can do is disable indexing... this takes up resources while you use your computer.

Also make sure your antivirus is not hogging up system resources (if so try an alternative like AVG)

Closed Thread    


Thread Tools
Display Modes

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed