Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 34,082
Total Threads: 106,558
Total Posts: 592,630
There are 141 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     Hardware Discussion :

iMac

Thread title: iMac
Closed Thread    
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
09-10-2008, 03:09 AM
#1
Geeko is offline Geeko
Status: Member
Join date: Sep 2007
Location: Denver, USA
Expertise: Design, Programming
Software: Photoshop, Notepad++
 
Posts: 313
iTrader: 8 / 100%
 

Geeko is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Geeko

  Old  iMac

I have an intense question about the iMac...

so I have $1500 in my bank right now and i really wanna get an iMac. But with $1500 i can only get the standard memory and ram...should I wait, save up and get the increased ram for $500 more? Would this help me as web developer and would i notice a difference?

09-10-2008, 06:10 AM
#2
the matt is offline the matt
the matt's Avatar
Status: I love this place
Join date: Mar 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 555
iTrader: 13 / 100%
 

the matt is on a distinguished road

Send a message via Skype™ to the matt

  Old

Sorry I am no help, but I have the exact same question on my mind

09-10-2008, 06:36 AM
#3
Matsta is offline Matsta
Matsta's Avatar
Status: Insert Rave Here
Join date: Dec 2006
Location: Auckland, NZ
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 1,426
iTrader: 3 / 100%
 

Matsta is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to Matsta Send a message via MSN to Matsta

  Old

Well Apple ram is a big rip, and it's easy as to put new ram in and 4gb is only $100. The hard drives are also a rip but they are quite hard to put in. If I were you I would get the standard version, and get a external hard drive when you need more space.

09-12-2008, 03:14 AM
#4
Geeko is offline Geeko
Status: Member
Join date: Sep 2007
Location: Denver, USA
Expertise: Design, Programming
Software: Photoshop, Notepad++
 
Posts: 313
iTrader: 8 / 100%
 

Geeko is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Geeko

  Old

hmm thanks matsa. any other opinions?

09-12-2008, 03:30 AM
#5
Vizon is offline Vizon - Click for my Image
Status: R'tard
Join date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,959
iTrader: 21 / 100%
 

Vizon is an unknown quantity at this point

  Old

Get a standard, it will be fine.

09-12-2008, 08:51 PM
#6
Jaysgirl is offline Jaysgirl
Jaysgirl's Avatar
Status: I love this place
Join date: May 2006
Location: Liverpool
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 562
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Jaysgirl is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Jaysgirl

  Old

standard, and go to somewhere like crucial for your ram, apple ram is a total rip off. Also like others have suggested, just hook up an external hdd and your set

09-13-2008, 04:08 AM
#7
Geeko is offline Geeko
Status: Member
Join date: Sep 2007
Location: Denver, USA
Expertise: Design, Programming
Software: Photoshop, Notepad++
 
Posts: 313
iTrader: 8 / 100%
 

Geeko is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Geeko

  Old

Thanks for the input everyone! Looks like ill be getting standard and upgrading ram (not from apple) and getting a external HD.

Closed Thread    


Thread Tools
Display Modes

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed