Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,471
There are 1137 users currently browsing (tf).

Our Partners:

TalkFreelance     TalkFreelance Information     General Discussion :

Dilemma in pricing!

Thread title: Dilemma in pricing!
09-21-2012, 03:46 AM
Rainmaker is offline Rainmaker
Software:

Rainmaker is on a distinguished road

Old  Dilemma in pricing!

I've been making websites since the early 2000s but as a passion and hobby. I never ventured into freelancing. Recently, I completed a college program in New Media and was able to learn more about the industry. I decided to try freelancing as a web designer to gain professional experience with clients but I'm not sure how to sort out pricing. I've done a lot of research on the topic and it seems to come down to your experience and charging what you believe you're work is worth.

Hence, my dilemma... I'm inexperienced in the sense that I haven't dealt with clients in the past. But I am knowledgable in design / front-end development and have been doing it on and off as a passion for over ten years. Should I be charging the same as a recent college graduate or as someone with years of experience?

I'm confident in my skills and my work but I'm not the most business-savvy designer and I don't have any experience dealing with clients. How can I work out a pricing system that doesn't undervalue my skills or over-compensate given my lack experience with client?

09-21-2012, 12:22 PM
Lowengard is offline Lowengard
Expertise: all editorial, bsns consulting
Software: zotero

Lowengard is an unknown quantity at this point

Old

If you're planning to start freelancing, the first thing you have to do is take freelancing seriously. Most small businesses (the statistic used to be about 3 out of 5) fail and the two most common reasons are lack of good business management and undercapitalization.