Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,472
There are 2017 users currently browsing (tf).

Our Partners:

TalkFreelance     Business and Website Management     Contracts, Business and Legal Help :

What's your process for managing clients?

Thread title: What's your process for managing clients?
10-27-2011, 03:55 AM
jmyers5678 is offline jmyers5678
Software:

jmyers5678 is on a distinguished road

Old  What's your process for managing clients?

I'm new to the forums and relatively new to freelancing. From my experience so far, I'm finding the hardest part is managing leads / clients. Do you have a successful process for client management that you can share?

This has been my process (more or less) so far:

1. Make first contact with a lead
2. Send portfolio of items that relate to the potential project (I'm a PHP developer, so I send links to websites and sample code if requested)
3. Discuss project objective with lead via phone / email
4. Send a proposal by email - usually hacked from a Word template that I've used for another client
5. Follow up with the lead to answer questions / confirm their interest
6. Send a PDF contract for them to sign and return
7. Collect deposit if agreed upon
8. Begin work on project - very little communication happens during the work phase
9. If it's an hourly project, jot hours down on a timesheet and send invoices (another Word template) periodically
10. Send URL of work-in-progress to client for review
11. Follow up with client, get signoff
12. Install project on client's server
13. Send final bill and wait patiently for a check

These are the issues that I'm facing: