Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,256
Total Threads: 81,169
Total Posts: 566,839
There are 77 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     Programming     Javascript :

jquery dropdown visable on load

Thread title: jquery dropdown visable on load
Reply    
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
04-07-2010, 05:36 PM
#1
handsonhosting is offline handsonhosting
handsonhosting's Avatar
Status: Junior Member
Join date: Mar 2010
Location: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Expertise: Web Hosting, Servers
Software: Notepad
 
Posts: 64
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

handsonhosting is an unknown quantity at this point

  Old  jquery dropdown visable on load

Hi guys,

Curious if anyone knows of a way to use the jquery dropdown script to have one of those dropdowns automatically visible when the page loads.

Basically I have a top navigation of 5 items, 3 of them have dropdowns. I'm looking to have the 3rd item (support) to have 3 options - helpdesk, live chat, knowledegebase - but on the page loading I want to have those visible. Once a user scrolls over the rest of the navigation it can retract, but at least initially on the page load I'd like to see it visible.

Does anyone know if this is possible in jquery? I've hunted around on various forums and in Google, but haven't found an answer that works yet.

Any help is appreciated.

Reply With Quote
04-07-2010, 08:01 PM
#2
Gaz is offline Gaz
Gaz's Avatar
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Expertise: Code & Programming
Software: Coda, TextMate, Sublime 2
 
Posts: 2,096
iTrader: 26 / 100%
 

Gaz will become famous soon enough Gaz will become famous soon enough

Send a message via Skype™ to Gaz

  Old

You could have it so that it is not hidden ( display:hidden; ) by default..?

Reply With Quote
04-07-2010, 08:02 PM
#3
santa is offline santa
santa's Avatar
Status: Member
Join date: Mar 2009
Location: Location: location.
Expertise: Design, HTML
Software: Espresso, Photoshop, Mail.app
 
Posts: 398
iTrader: 7 / 100%
 

santa is on a distinguished road

Send a message via ICQ to santa Send a message via AIM to santa Send a message via MSN to santa Send a message via Yahoo to santa Send a message via Skype™ to santa

  Old

You mean display:none, or if you want to show it by default, display:block

Reply With Quote
04-07-2010, 09:24 PM
#4
Gaz is offline Gaz
Gaz's Avatar
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Expertise: Code & Programming
Software: Coda, TextMate, Sublime 2
 
Posts: 2,096
iTrader: 26 / 100%
 

Gaz will become famous soon enough Gaz will become famous soon enough

Send a message via Skype™ to Gaz

  Old

Originally Posted by santa View Post
You mean display:none, or if you want to show it by default, display:block
I do, silly me! Obviously it's visibility: hidden
Thanks santa

Reply With Quote
04-07-2010, 09:53 PM
#5
t0m is offline t0m
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Jan 2005
Location: West Sussex, England
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,829
iTrader: 21 / 100%
 

t0m is on a distinguished road

  Old

I wouldn't hide the navigation with any css, use jQuery to do the whole lot.

Basics...
$('ul#navigation li ul').hide();
$('class/id of sub nav to show here').show();

Ideally you would want to filter the hide(); function.

Reply With Quote
Reply    


Thread Tools
Display Modes

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed