Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,472
There are 1887 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     Programming     PHP and MySQL :

Google Maps Markers

Thread title: Google Maps Markers
Closed Thread    
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
07-23-2008, 02:46 PM
#1
Jamie is offline Jamie
Jamie's Avatar
Status: I love this place
Join date: Jan 2006
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 513
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Jamie is on a distinguished road

  Old  Google Maps Markers

Hey guys,

I'm wondering if anyone here knows of a way to easily add markers to Google Maps.

I have Google Maps setup on a website I'm working on and the clients wanted to know if they could somehow easily add markers to the map through some kind of script.

I know how to manually enter a new point on the map such as:

Code:
var point = new GLatLng(43.82589,-79.10040);
var marker = createMarker(point,'Content Goes Here')
map.addOverlay(marker);
But I'm more looking for a script that has a view fields such as, Latitude, Longitude, and Content.

If anyone knows of anything close please let me know.

Thanks!

07-29-2008, 01:41 PM
#2
ThinkMinds is offline ThinkMinds
ThinkMinds's Avatar
Status: I'm new around here
Join date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 19
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

ThinkMinds is on a distinguished road

  Old

Hi there,

you could use a small database containing a table with the values for latitude, longitude and content - all dynamically populated by a form that the client uses. The form would contain the following fields:

1. Enter location to add
2. Enter content

Your form would also need to make a call to the google maps API in order to retrieve the latitude and longitude of the location the customer wants to add.

Let me know if you need a hand with it - coincidentally speaking I am doing just that for one of my clients

Cheers,

Mike

07-29-2008, 09:42 PM
#3
ThinkMinds is offline ThinkMinds
ThinkMinds's Avatar
Status: I'm new around here
Join date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 19
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

ThinkMinds is on a distinguished road

  Old

Hmm...actually, I vastly over-simplified the above There are a couple of things that are required:

1. Form asking for location / content to add
1. Database table of geo-codes with at least id, latitude, longitude, address and content fields
2. A way to actually get the latitude and longitude from the address (I will more than likely use the Yahoo Geocoding API for it - limited to 5,000 queries per day - Google's apparently is not fully ready yet, at least from what I have researched)
3. And finally a way to convert all the information from the database table into XML to send it to the Google Maps API and some AJAX to generate the actual map on the client side.

Anyway - I've seen that this post has attracted a fair amount of viewers so what I will do is upload the code that I'll write in order to get this working and hopefully it will help someone out (unless someone else will drop their code in first hehe).

Cheers,

Mike

Closed Thread    


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed