Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,472
There are 1424 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     HTML/XHTML/DHTML/CSS :

IE...What to do...

Thread title: IE...What to do...
Closed Thread    
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
03-18-2007, 11:33 PM
#1
Kristien is offline Kristien
Kristien's Avatar
Status: Sin Binner
Join date: Aug 2006
Location: East Coast
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 612
iTrader: 14 / 89%
 

Kristien is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Kristien

  Old  IE...What to do...

I'm trying to code something in xhmtl/css. My question is what do I need to do so that it doesnt mes-up in i.e? Isnt it a simple margin or width definition?

03-18-2007, 11:36 PM
#2
Andrew R is offline Andrew R
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Dec 2005
Location: Arizona
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 5,200
iTrader: 17 / 95%
 

Andrew R is on a distinguished road

  Old

Code:
* {
    margin: 0;
    padding: 0;
}
Code with that in your CSS file. It will fix the majority of the errors that occur.

03-19-2007, 12:21 AM
#3
Dave.H is offline Dave.H
Status: Member
Join date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 117
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Dave.H is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Dave.H

  Old

There is also the I.E. width hack for older versions of I.E. which comes in handy but yes the only major code adjustment was listed above by andrew.

03-19-2007, 11:00 AM
#4
Cole is offline Cole
Status: I love this place
Join date: Apr 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 721
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Cole is on a distinguished road

  Old

Another very good hint is to make sure IE is not in quirks mode. Quirks mode pretty much tells IE to do its own thing. You generally put it in quirks mode when you have an invalid W3C declaration at the top of the page.

And never, ever, do an xml declaration such as this:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
----

And I also do this declaration sometimes and it really can fix a lot. Use it in a comment IF statement for IE <= 6:

/* IE FIX */
div,
li,
ul,
form,
label,
{
height: 1%;
position: relative;
}

body
{
padding: 0;
/** /background-color: red; /**/
}

03-19-2007, 09:22 PM
#5
Awesome is offline Awesome
Awesome's Avatar
Status: Pastafarian
Join date: May 2006
Location: Duct Taped to your Ceiling
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 3,440
iTrader: 26 / 93%
 

Awesome is on a distinguished road

  Old

Originally Posted by Cole View Post
Another very good hint is to make sure IE is not in quirks mode. Quirks mode pretty much tells IE to do its own thing. You generally put it in quirks mode when you have an invalid W3C declaration at the top of the page.

And never, ever, do an xml declaration such as this:


----

And I also do this declaration sometimes and it really can fix a lot. Use it in a comment IF statement for IE <= 6:

Andrews post above is a much more effective and efficient way to do it. And if statements for IE are unnecessary 98% of the time. It's typically poorly written code rather than an actual issue with IE

03-19-2007, 10:35 PM
#6
Cole is offline Cole
Status: I love this place
Join date: Apr 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 721
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Cole is on a distinguished road

  Old

Originally Posted by Blue Ire View Post
Andrews post above is a much more effective and efficient way to do it. And if statements for IE are unnecessary 98% of the time. It's typically poorly written code rather than an actual issue with IE
I never said not to use Andrew's code. I remove the margin and padding using that too when I code.

Also, Andrew's code above will not do anything if IE is in quirks mode.

However, if you are going to say that if statements are unnecessary 98% of the time, then you obviously have not coded any monster projects before.

Here are two websites with very well done coding that use if statements extensively:
http://www.thinkvitamin.com, http://www.sitepoint.com

03-20-2007, 12:09 AM
#7
Awesome is offline Awesome
Awesome's Avatar
Status: Pastafarian
Join date: May 2006
Location: Duct Taped to your Ceiling
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 3,440
iTrader: 26 / 93%
 

Awesome is on a distinguished road

  Old

Originally Posted by Cole View Post
However, if you are going to say that if statements are unnecessary 98% of the time, then you obviously have not coded any monster projects before.
Ah, the typical beginner / poor coder mindset. Best of luck with that.

03-20-2007, 01:08 AM
#8
Andrew R is offline Andrew R
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Dec 2005
Location: Arizona
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 5,200
iTrader: 17 / 95%
 

Andrew R is on a distinguished road

  Old

To date, I've never used an if statement on my own code.. so really, they aren't needed.

03-20-2007, 05:11 PM
#9
jabberwocky is offline jabberwocky
jabberwocky's Avatar
Status: Member
Join date: Oct 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 278
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

jabberwocky is on a distinguished road

  Old

although they are still a valid tool to solve specific problems. they have their uses. you can even set up different layouts/designs for specific browsers this way.

my personal fav, to tell IE 6 users to sod off.

*EDIT

here is a site dedicated to the craptastic errors plaguing IE6 and some of IE 7 as well as suggested fixes/hacks/workarounds.

Closed Thread    


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed